A roller coaster ride through mid 18th Century Philadelphia 

I remember sitting on the London Tube getting across town to Liverpool Street Station to meet my girlfriend  (who became Mrs G) while reading the London Evening News. In the arts and book section was a review of a new publication called Manchester United Ruined My Life by Colin   Shindler.

As a Manchester City supporter thanks to my departed father, I to read it which was very well written about the ups and downs of City fan.

This book has somewhat  faded in my memory but it got me thing about the last 3.5 years of my life.

What started out as a phone call between friends with a interest and passion for period antique furniture could eventually take us on a roller coaster ride of highs to the lows which Shindler also talks about.

How can a object in this case a four poster bed corse the sea sickness of emotions on a journey trying to understand and workout the manufacturer, materials and its history as well as working out some anomalies and mechanics not found throughout English production in the Georgian period.

My connection to this project is from the start unlike my normal restoration jobs which are pieces generally made for the practical domestic market of the 18th &early 19th Century which have very little or no need for research.  This was very different because this piece was found, examined, bought and then restored which opened  up this to me a new road  of discovery and hard nocks communicating with experts who know nothing of me or my background skills.

I have just had the privilege to read my article in the forth coming Mortise and Tenon Magazine in USA which takes you through the hole story as if in our shoes.

The M&T Magazine team are a very exciting and passion group who want to bring everyone to the table when it comes to learning & understanding American furniture history and constructing/manufacturing.

From the cabinetmaker -restorer -conservator- curator -the Student of furniture and then the experts come scholars to open up listen by  share old and new knowledge and finding which will shed light on furniture which had been put to one side.

My article is this journey about a bed made for John and Elizabeth Cadwalader and how like Shindler we all have a passion  and with me its Antique Furniture and  finding this John Cadwalader bed has it  ruin my life Yes in someways from frustrations of being on the wrong side of the pond but also has made me more determined to get a platform to speak . 

Mortise and Tenon Magazine a recommended read for all students of American Furniture.

Leave a Reply

